Carlisle Area Historical Society

Saving History for Tomorrow

The Carlisle Area Historical Society was formed in August of 2007 with 22 charter members. One of our first actions was to apply to the City of Carlisle for funds being held in escrow to found an historical facility. These funds, from the estates of Ewing Lanning and Mary Adams were granted to CAHS and allowed us to purchase a beautiful turn-of-the century home as our headquarters and museum space. 

This property was originally the home of John Hix Randleman and his wife Ellen Stumbo Randleman. Following usual custom with historic homes the property is now called The Randleman House.

Thanks to the hard work and dedication of the members as well as the support of the businesses in our community the restoration of the Randleman house is nearly complete. 

Our board consists of nine members elected by a simple majority of members attending the annual meeting. Each board member serves a term of three years with one third newly elected each year. General members are always welcome at monthly board meetings and are encouraged to run for open seats.

CAHS Board 2018/2019

Sharon Hill President 

515-985-8256 Seat Expires in 2019

Melissa Hawk,   515-282-4110  Seat Expires 2020

Melody Kirk, Treasurer  515-371-4961  Seat Expires 2020

Larry Watkins Seat Expires 2019

Neil Ruddy 515-991-2767 Seat Expires 2020

Dr. Mark Randleman  515-989-3133 Seat expires 2021

Arden Owens 515-360-3361 Seat Expires 2021

Mike Kinter 515-423-3207 Seat Expires 2021

Contact us at